Chicken with sun dried tomato, basil and blue cheese – Tomato and olive salad with sun dried tomato dressing.

The title makes my love of tomatoes 🍅 is a bit obvious I think.  I love them in all forms and I’ve managed to squeeze them into this recipe in three ways 😍.  Tomatoes are rich in vitamin C, vitamin A, Potasium and antioxidants, what’s not to love ❤️. I digress!

This recipe is my attempt to embrace springs vibrant colour and shake off those heavy winter meals (which I dearly love, don’t get me wrong!). Whilst in the garden yesterday, the was shining and it got me thinking about Italy, the crisp clean salads, real depth of flavour which is synonymous with Italian cuisine.  Luckily, my grocery order has been delivered that morning, what joy! 🤗. Lunch was looming, the sun was shining, so some sort of salad 🥗 was a given.  

Whilst washing my hands, I gazed upon my basil plant, first ingredient found.  I opened the fridge, the tomatoes with their deep red colour stood out immediately, second ingredient found.  First I thought, maybe not Italian but Greek with a vibrant feta salad, then my eyes rested on the chicken breasts and I knew where I was going!

I knew I’d go for a classic stuffed chicken breast with sun dried tomato, basil and Gorgonzola.  The salad was easy, with fresh tomato, red onion, mixed leaves and kalamata olives (that’s what made me think Greek salad in the beginning ), but what dressing? Olive oil, balsamic (of course), hmmm, sun dried tomatoes to carry the flavour through and borrow the oregano from the Greek salad.  Added some salt and pepper, it was Devine! Rich and flavourful, quite thick too which made me think that it would go really well pasta too, for a light sauce.  So, lunch was born!

Serves 1

For the salad

  • Large handful of mixed lettuce leaves
  • Mixed tomatoes, I used 2 medium-small sweet vine and 3 cherry tomatoes
  • 1/3rd small red onion, thinly sliced.
  • 6 olives
  • Salt & pepper

Salad dressing

This makes enough for several salads and whatever else you may want it for.

  • 4 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 60g sun dried tomatoes
  • 1 tsp dried oregano 
  • Salt & pepper

For the chicken

  • 1 chicken breast
  • 3-4 large sun dried tomatoes
  • 4-5 large basil leaves
  • 20g Gorgonzola 
  • Salt & pepper
  • 1/4 tsp dried oregano

Method

  1. For the salad, roughy chop the tomato and mix with the thinly sliced onion and olives. Season with a small amount of salt, (as there is salt in the dressing)and Pepper and leave to marinade.
  2. For the dressing. In a small blender add all the dressing ingredients and blitz. Check the seasoning, it should be slightly too salty because when it’s mixed with the lettuce, it will take the saltiness back down.
  3. Take the chicken and slice it through the side but not all the way (butterfly it).
  4. Season the outside with salt, pepper and oregano and brown on both sides. About 3 minutes per side over a medium high heat.
  5. Next, open the chicken out and lay it flat to cook the inside, again about 3-4 minutes.
  6. Flip the chicken over and lay the sun dried tomato, basil and Gorgonzola on one side and close it up.
  7. Continue to cook for about a minute on each side until the cheese has melted.
  8. Turn off the heat and allow to rest while you dress the salad.
  9. Add 3 tsp of the dressing to the tomatoes and mix.  Toss lightly with the leaves and serve with the chicken.

This recipe is as quick to make for four as it is for one.  It’s also a super quick mid-week meal, 30 minutes and you are done, and it’s on the table.  If you are missing the carbs, then some roasted garlic and rosemary potatoes would be great, they can be made ahead, frozen, then defrosted when you are ready to use and whacked in the oven to crisper back up. Or simple serve with some great italian bread, focaccia would be perfect!

Thanks for reading and let me know if you make it yourself and what you think. 

Buon appitito.

A x

Leave a Reply

