Soup of the day – Minestrone

Minestrone is the simplest soup to make, ever!  However, when my husband first told me about it, he was not very clear on what was in it, even though he’d been eating it for 21 years!  In case you’ve not read any of my other posts, my husband is from an Italian family, and most of the Italian recipes I feature have come from my mother-in-law or father-in-law.

Anyway, as I mentioned, he could not tell me even one vegatable that it contained, even worse, he said just throw anything in.  Hmmmm, not really what I wanted to hear.  This was back in the day where my cooking repertoire was very limited (I was only young).  So, next time I saw his mother (we were only dating then), I plucked up the courage to ask her the recipe. Not only did she not look at me like I was a complete idiot, but she chopped up the ingredients, put them in a tub, and said “cook this in 2 litres of chicken stock, and you are good to go”.  When I saw that there was only leek, potato, carrot, peas and tomato purée in the tub, i did feel like a bit of an idiot! He he.

I have to say though, this is a real staple on our menu.  You can make a big batch and it will keep in the fridge for up to 5 days.  Each time you want some, ladle it out into a smaller pan, add about 35g of small soup pasta (we like farfallini the best, little bows), simmer until the past is cooked.  Simple 😊.  Don’t forget to add a sprinkle of Parmesan to your freshly filled bowl though 😉 

Serves 8

Per portion:

236 Kcal | 1.3g Fat | 0.3g Sat fat | 47.4g Carb | 7.4g Protein

Ingredients

  • 1 large leek, washed and finely sliced.
  • 2 medium carrots cut into a small dice
  • 1 large potato, peeled and cut into a small dice
  • 1 cup of frozen or fresh peas
  • 2 litres of veg/chicken stock
  • 1/2 tablespoon of tomato purée 
  • 35g small soup pasta per person

Method

  1. Make sure you have a pan big enough to take the veg and 2 litres of stock.
  2. Wash the leek, slice it lengthways into 4 quarters, finely slice and add to your pan.
  3. Peal the carrots & potato, cut into a small dice (you can do a chunky version if you want and chop bigger), add to the pan.
  4. Add the peas and tomato purée.
  5. Next add the stock, mix well, bring to the boil, then simmer for about 20 minutes of until the veg are tender.

This is your basic soup ready to be cooled and stored in the fridge.  

You can add other ingredient however, like borlotti beans and finely sliced for a more winter version or fresh green beans for a spring version.  You can even add some shredded cooked chicken and turn it into a chicken noodle soup, so versitile!

Thanks you for readying 🙂

Buon appetito!

A x

Leave a Reply

