Plan for success in 2017

So, my planner arrived today, all shiny and new in it Amazon jacket.  I was so excited to open it, as I did my husband said “I really don’t get it”, I replied with “you don’t need to”, I smiled sweetly and walked off, he he.

One thing I do know about myself is that planning and tracking is essential if I want to succeed at anything.   Any success in the past has come when I’ve physically planned it and tracked/recorded it in some way. It is so easy to loose your way in the daily grind of life.  Not this year, not this time.  I’m armed for success, so lets get going.

Planner – I have tried many ways of planning in the past e.g. calendar in my phone, img_1715electronic notes, bullet journal and the list goes on.  The bullet journal was the closest I’ve found, what let me down was my need to see everything looking neat!  So, I spent too much time drawing boxes which left less time for the real business of planning!  Having a busy life put an end to this method of planning.  I watched a lot of good layout reviews on YouTube (links below) and decided on the ‘Happy Planner 365’.  As planner availability is limited in the UK or shipping from the USA is far too expensive, this planner gave me almost what I needed, plus I was able to buy an extension pack which has the same inserts as their Health and Fitness planner (couldn’t find it in the UK).  I’m waiting on the extension pack, but I’m already impressed with the planner, great structured planner with lots of room for that all important planning! (not like some videos I’ve seen where they just look like big sticker books!)

https://youtu.be/8GSY6JhBBdY                https://youtu.be/RWTRR9UfqkU

Apps – Now, lets talk about Apps.  Despite what I have said above, I’m quite a tech at heart.  My planner is wonderful, and great for Sunday afternoons planning with a nice cup of tea, but far too big to carry around.  Apps give you the ultimate flexibility, they are on your phone, which we carry everywhere, and they are able to access information that we would need a suitcase to carry around! When it comes to tracking, Apps are the only way for me.  I have used various apps over time, however, I have stuck with these for a good while and they really work for me.  Two oldies, but goodies are My Fitness Pal and Map my Fitness.  I will be recording all my food in My Fitness Pal, so if you want to follow me just search for Livechangechallenge and send me a request, I’ll be happy to accept.  I use Map my Fitness for all outdoor activities like walking and cycling.  I’m going to be trying a new Under Armour app called Record, I have already had a little try but found it a bit clunky as it didn’t always pull the data through from the sister apps.  I’m hoping that they have fixed the bugs!  I also use LF Connect which is the app that connects to the equipment in the gym I currently use.  This too sometimes talks to My Fitness Pal……if it feels like it! lol.

I really want to share my journey with you and hopefully help others along the way.  If you want to see how I’m using my planner to help my weight loss journey or fitness planning then please let me know in the comments below and I’ll be happy to share.  Also, send me a friend request on My Fitness Pal and I’ll be happy to open that up to you too.

I’m far more active on Twitter and Instagram so please do follow for all my progress updates and food ideas.

Thanks for taking the time to read!

A x

Disclaimer: The above post is my interpretation, please do your own research and draw your own conclusions.

Leave a Reply

